It is a well known fact that Arizona has some of the most severe laws against drunk driving, and while public transportation is not available for every area, more and more people are taking advantage of the Arizona Metro light-rail when they return home from the entertainment district in Phoenix. Arizona has many different types of charges for drunk driving. These charges are dependent on factors such as your blood-alcohol content at the time of arrest and prior convictions for drunk driving. Each of the following is a type of DUI charge you can receive in Arizona and the potential consequences of each:
Driving Under the Influence – This charge is given to those who have no prior DUI convictions and who have a blood-alcohol level that falls between the legal maximum of .08 and .15. The penalties that come with this conviction depend on the judge, but the highest penalty includes a $1,500 fine, a three month license suspension, up to ten days in jail, and up to five years of probation. In addition, you could be required to pay for a device inside your vehicle (ignition interlock device) which will require a breathalyzer test in order to start the engine.
Extreme DUI – The qualifying factor for an extreme DUI charge is a blood-alcohol level of .15 to .200. Those who receive their first extreme DUI conviction may be subject to fines of $2,700, up to 30 days in jail, and a mandatory ignition interlock device on their vehicle for up to 12 months. Probation may also be required for up to five years, and a license suspension of 90 days.
Super-Extreme DUI – Those with a blood-alcohol level of at least .200 or more will receive a super-Extreme DUI charge. A conviction can result in severe penalties. Super-Extreme DUI can result in a minimum of 45 days in jail, up to $3,200 in fines in addition to court costs and jail costs, a minimum of 12 months with an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, minimum 90 day license suspension, and five years of probation.
Felony DUI – Individuals can be charged with a felony DUI under two different circumstances, which include:
Intoxicated driving with a suspended license and/or three previous DUIs in the last seven years Intoxicated drivers caught with three prior convictions within the last seven years or with a suspended license are subject to a number of severe penalties. A judge can order up to two years in jail, at least $4,600 in fines, up to ten years on probation, and years of having to use an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.
Intoxicated driving while a minor under age 15 is present – Driving under the influence with a minor in the car is serious charge. In fact, it is categorized as a class 6 felony. Those who are convicted of this crime may be subject to as many as 2 years in jail, thousands in fines, up to ten years of probation, and years of having to pay for and use an ignition interlock device.
In addition to any of these charges, a judge may order alcohol dependence treatment in lieu of jail time. The list of penalties for each charge do not take into account penalties when a person already has prior DUI convictions. If you are facing a DUI charge, contacting an experienced Arizona DUI lawyer may help you fight your charges and potentially have them reduced or thrown out.